Tired of all this political nonsense?

Sign up and get inspired everyday

5 Things that Should be Vegan, but Aren’t

The veggie burger is a good food for a vegan lifestyle that doesn't contain animal products, and it promotes animal rights.
Source: pixabay

In American culture, we have seen a rise in the amount of people who are vegan. While the reasons behind this very from being an animal rights activist, to being environmentally conscious, to doing it for health reasons, how you go about it is usually all the same.

This includes avoid eating meat and animal by-products.The second half is harder than you would expect. There are a lot of ingredients that sneak their way into everyday foods that should be vegan.

Here are five things that should be vegan, but have a few ingredients you should be looking for:

1) Bread

For every carb loving vegan out there, this is tragic. However, it should come as no surprise that a lot of bread recipes contain milk, eggs, and butter. Luckily, there’s a long list of super market breads that are vegan friendly to include Ezekiel, Glutino, Nature’s Own, and Trader Joe’s brand bread.

2) Chocolate:

While the plant chocolate comes from, Cacao, is vegan, chocolate is not. Even dark chocolate has a bit of milk in it. As well, it’s possible some brands slip milk by-products whey and casein in there. While places like Whole Foods sell their own vegan chocolate, expect it to be a little pricier than your average Hershey bar.

3) Beer and Wine:

This one is just tragic, but true. Some beer and wine companies use an ingredient called isinglass, a gelatin-based fish by-product. Isinglass is used as a clarifying agent. Casein and egg whites also sometimes find their way into beer and wine. Since none of these ingredients would be listed, make sure to ask a salesperson or distributor if their product is vegan.

4) Candy:

Marshmallows and gummies are a no go for all vegans. Gelatin is a very common ingredient in candy and just so happens to be derived from animal collagen. Luckily, this is easier to find than the animal by-products in beer and wine.

5) Veggie Burgers:

This one definitely sounds as ridiculous as it should. Some veggie burgers contain eggs and dairy. This seems very counterproductive given a veggie burgers purpose. There are still plenty of supermarket brands that are 100% vegan though.

As you can see, going vegan can be harder than expected. So if you’re going for a lifestyle change, or even just a more environmentally sustainable diet, make sure to check the ingredients on the food you buy first.

By: Madison Starr




Is Crazy Rich Asians Helping Address Issues Surrounding Asian Representation in Hollywood?

Crazy Rich Asians, based on Kevin Kwan’s book, appears to be a summer blockbuster hit. The story focuses on Rachel…

flare gaza

The Never-ending Conflict: Another Loss for Palestine

On September 10th, the Trump administration announced that they will be closing the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) office in Washington…

Muslim in America – Voices

Muslim in America – Voices

“People are afraid of Islam because they don’t understand it.” Torrance, CA There’s definitely some type of understanding of both…

LGBTQ – Voices

LGBTQ – Voices

“My mother’s initial reaction was that I would ‘never go anywhere in life’ if I didn’t go back into the…

Mental Health – Voices

Mental Health – Voices

“I don’t feel like I know who I am a lot of the times, and I don’t understand why sometimes,…

Superficial Aspects Of Social Media

Superficial Aspects Of Social Media

“Pictures can tell a lot about an individual, but they do not tell the full story.” Brooklyn, NY Dating in…

LGBTQ – Voices

LGBTQ – Voices

“It was not an issue of contention again until I went on my first date with a woman and then,…

double standards in usa

America’s Double Standards On Race And Sexual Assault

A man named Mark Twain once said, “There are many humorous things in the world—among them is the white man’s…

Muslim in America – Voices

Muslim in America – Voices

“Hate motivates fear and lingers longer than love and peace.” Rockland County, NY There is a generally understood caricature of…